التعلم من أجل القيادة الشاملة من أجل السلام المستدام

بقلم إدوارد ج.برانتمير ، وكلير إم غورملي ، وميليسا جراي ، وآرون مينيك ، وجون ميرامبل ، وأميليا موريسون ، وآن شيرمان ، وأبيجيل ستيفنسون ، وبيكاش أديكاري
جامعة جيمس ماديسون

بالنظر إلى الداخل والخارج ، يشعر المرء بموجة متصاعدة من الصراع والتوتر الذي يتغلغل في عالمنا ؛ مجتمعات منقسمة على أساس خطوط الصدع السياسية والأيديولوجية ، والأزمات الإنسانية الهائلة ، والهجرة العالمية الجماعية ، والتطرف العنيف ، وإنكار تغير المناخ والعمل التدريجي ، والتدهور البيئي وانقراض الأنواع ، وتعثر الاقتصادات القديمة والمتقلبة. باختصار ، هذه هي تحديات عصرنا - مشاكل العصر الشريرة بدون حلول سهلة. لا يزال البعض منا يأمل في قوة تعليم السلام لتغيير الأفراد والعالم. بهذه الروح ، قد يطرح المعلمون من بين القراء هنا الأسئلة التالية: كيف نخلق خبرات تعليمية عميقة لطلابنا متجذرة في التعلم التجريبي القائم على الموقع ومرتبط أيضًا بالرؤية والمبادرات العالمية؟ كيف نلهم قادة المستقبل لتكريس عملهم نحو التخفيف من حدة العنف والمعاناة وبناء السلام المستدام؟

تعلم عن الزراعة المستدامة والعدالة الاجتماعية من توم بينيفينتو في الخارج

منزل طارة كرمة و FiG.

سياق الدورة

مستوحى من المنحة الدراسية السابقة حول تعليم السلام الأساسي من أجل الاستدامة (برانتمير ، 2013) ، وطرق التدريس المهمة للمكان (Grueneweld ، 2003) ، و قمة الذات المستدامة، أنا (إدوارد برانتمير) أنشأت وأقوم حاليًا بتدريس دورة استكشافية لكلية الشرف في جامعة جيمس ماديسون بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. الدورة بعنوان "القيادة الشاملة من أجل السلام المستدام". كجزء من رحلة التعلم هذه ، أريد أن يكون طلابي ، الذين أعتبرهم متعلمين مشاركين في عملية اكتشاف متبادل ، أكثر وعياً كيف ولماذا من التعلم ، لاكتساب الوضوح في هدفهم الوظيفي من خلال الاستكشاف التأملي ، وتوضيح قيمهم ومنهجهم في القيادة. باختصار ، نحن نركز على معرفة أنفسنا ، وعلى التواصل مع قادة السلام المستدام على الصعيدين العالمي والمحلي والتعليم من أجل مبادرات التنمية المستدامة ، وعلى اكتشاف خطط عمل سلام مستدام لمستقبلنا كقادة.

من أجل تحقيق أهداف التعلم النبيلة هذه ، قمت بتأطير الدورة بأسئلة الدورة التأسيسية التالية:

  1. ما هي قيمك الأساسية وفلسفتك ومنهجك في القيادة؟
  2. كيف يتنقل قادة السلام المؤثرون في الفرص والحواجز أمام السلام المستدام؟
  3. أين هي قوتك لإجراء تغييرات لتخفيف العنف والمعاناة في عالم محتاج - لبناء السلام المستدام والمجتمع والسعادة؟ "

الإجابة على هذه الأسئلة الثلاثة تشكل أساسًا للاستفسار عن مسارنا الدراسي ؛ كانت هذه الأسئلة الثلاثة بمثابة مهمة كتابية أولية وستكون بمثابة الاختبار النهائي للدورة. بعد ثمانية أسابيع من رحلتنا التعليمية ، وضعنا تعريفات للقيادة الشاملة والسلام المستدام ، واستكشفنا العديد من القادة العالميين ، ونستعد لاستكشاف القادة والمنظمات المحلية ، مثل كرمة و تين, ينمو المشروعو راديكال روتس كوميونيتي فارم- كلها مكرسة للسلام المستدام. نحن نستكشف قيمنا ومقارباتنا للقيادة من أجل السلام المستدام من خلال الانخراط مع الآخرين الذين ربما يكونون على طول الطريق.

التعلم عن الضيافة الثقافية وكونك جارًا جيدًا للجميع

تحتاج إليها.

استكشاف القيادة الشاملة والسلام المستدام

غير راضين عن التعريفات الحالية للقيادة الشاملة ، سعينا إلى تحسين الأساس الراسخ للمعرفة من خلال دمج وجهات نظر جديدة في سياق السلام المستدام. كصف دراسي ، استكشفنا وصنعنا تعريفاتنا الخاصة. القيادة الشاملة هو خلق بيئة تعاونية يشعر فيها جميع الأطراف المعنية بالفهم والقدرة على المشاركة. هنا، فهم و تمكين تعمل على إبراز طبيعة الأخذ والعطاء الجوهرية للبيئة. يتم تحويل ديناميكية القوة التقليدية بين القادة والأتباع لدعم جو من التواضع يسود العلاقات الشخصية ويلهم العمل الجماعي من أجل زراعة السلام المستدام. ما هو سلام مستدام ومن بعد؟ كطبقة ، نتفق على أن السلام المستدام هو حالة من العلاقات العالمية حيث يتم تمكين الأفراد والجماعات والمجتمعات ليكونوا سعداء تمامًا وبصحة جيدة. يعمل الفضول المشترك وفهم التنوع على تخفيف المعاناة عن طريق إنشاء علاقات غير عنيفة وعادلة بين المجتمعات من جميع الأحجام وداخلها ، وأكبرها المجتمع الكوكبي. السلام المستدام هو العملية والهدف النهائي.

نشر بعض الأخشاب لإجراء تجارب في التسخين المستدام والطبخ و

الحية.

لغرض استكشاف ومقارنة قادة السلام المستدام العالميين ، أكملنا أسئلة عبر الإنترنت (بحث قائم على الإنترنت) على قادة متعددين. كصف دراسي ، نظرنا إلى اثنين من قادة السكان الأصليين في الولايات المتحدة ، وينونا لودوك من قبيلة وايت إيرث وديفيد أركامبولت الثاني من قبيلة ستاندنج روك سيوكس. لكل من هؤلاء القادة غير الغربيين ، قمنا بفحص قيمهم ورؤاهم ومقارباتهم للمشاركة في القيادة الشاملة من أجل السلام المستدام ، وكذلك كيفية تمكينهم وإشراكهم وتحويلهم لمجتمعهم. أخيرًا ، درسنا تأثير هؤلاء القادة الجامعيين وتأثيرهم على الأجيال القادمة. بالإضافة إلى قادة السكان الأصليين المقيمين في الولايات المتحدة ، استكشفنا حياة وعمل الأشخاص التاليين: وانجاري ماثاي ، ناشطة كينية وحائزة على جائزة نوبل ؛ فاندانا شيفا ، باحثة هندية وناشطة مناهضة للعولمة ؛ و Lyonchoen Jigme Y.Tinley ، رئيس الوزراء السابق لبوتان وصاحب رؤية مشتركة لمبادرات السعادة الوطنية الإجمالية ؛ ثيش نهات هانه ، راهب وعالم بوذي من زن فيتنامي ؛ المهاتما غاندي ، المهندس الهندي لـ ساتيا جراها الحركة المناهضة للاستعمار ، ومارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور ، زعيم الحقوق المدنية الأمريكي الأفريقي الشهير. ما الذي تعلمناه من مقارنة قادة العالم حتى الآن؟

خلال نشاط الفصل الدراسي التأملي ، شاركنا أكبر الوجبات السريعة عند مقارنة ومقارنة هؤلاء القادة من خلال استبياننا على الويب. فيما يلي ملخص لأهم استنتاجاتنا فيما يتعلق بنهج هؤلاء القادة:

  • العمل اللاعنفي المتعمد.
  • تمكين الناس من حمل الرسالة ، بحيث تستمر الحركة لأجيال.
  • المثابرة والتفاني مدى الحياة لقضيتهم.
  • كل عمل مهم.
  • لا إشباع فوري ، بل هي عملية.
  • قوس العدالة في MLK ، "قوس الكون الأخلاقي طويل ، لكنه ينحني نحو العدالة."
  • أشخاص غير كاملين. لديهم / لديهم عيوب شخصية.
  • إنهم أناس عاديون عاديون ، وليسوا نماذج أصلية ، لذلك يمكن للأشخاص العاديين مثلك ومثلي إحداث التغيير ، ويمكن أن يصبحوا قادة شاملين.
  • هؤلاء الأشخاص يعتمدون على المكان ، متجذرون في ثقافة ومجتمع وتاريخ وجزء من ثقافة. هذه الروابط مهمة.
  • يشكل جوهر روحي / ديني عميق قيمهم ويقود أفعالهم.

كطبقة ، نتغذى على هذه الأفكار. تتطلب قيادة السلام المستدام عملاً سلميًا مقصودًا ، مسترشدًا بالقيم الأساسية ، والصلات القائمة على الموقف ، ونظرة طويلة للنضال من أجل السلام والعدالة في العقل والقلب. هل نفكر في كيفية مساهمة قراراتنا وأفعالنا الحالية في رفاهية الجيل السابع ، كما تشجع تعاليم الأمريكيين الأصليين؟ كيف ستبدو قيادتك اليومية وتشعر بها إذا كنت تضع في اعتبارك مخاوف صحة ورفاهية وعلاقات الجيل السابع؟ نحن نستكشف الإجابات على الأسئلة الجميلة الدائمة في هذه الدورة. حتى الآن ، كانت رحلة التعلم هذه مناسبة وملهمة - للطلاب والمعلمين على حدٍ سواء.

المراجع:

برانتمير ، إي جيه (2013). نحو تعليم السلام المهم من أجل الاستدامة. مجلة تعليم السلامو 10 (3) و 242-258.

Gruenewald، DA 2003. "أفضل ما في العالمين: علم أصول التدريس النقدي للمكان." باحث تربوي 32 (4): 3-12.

انضم إلى الحملة وساعدنا #SpreadPeaceEd!
الرجاء ارسال بريد الكتروني لي:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول المشار إليها إلزامية *

انتقل إلى الأعلى

Learning about food cycles by turning compost piles at Vine and FIG. Food is grown for local restaurants and scraps come back to feed the soil―the circle of life.

Learning for Inclusive Leadership for Sustainable Peace

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page

By Edward J. Brantmeier, Claire M. Gormley, Melissa Gray, Aaron Minnick, John Mirambel, Amelia Morrison, Anne Sherman, Abigail Stevenson, and Bikash Adhikari
James Madison University

Looking at home and abroad, one experiences a rising tide of conflict and tension that permeates our world; societies divided along political and ideological fault lines, massive humanitarian crises, mass global migration, violent extremism, climate change denial and progressive action, environmental degradation and species extinction, and faltering old and fluctuating new economies. In short, these are the challenges of our times–wicked problems without easy solutions. Some of us remain hopeful in the power of peace education to transform individuals and the world. In that spirit, the educators among the readership here may ask the following questions: How do we create deep learning experiences for our students that are rooted in placed-based, experiential learning and also connected to global vision and initiatives? How do we inspire future leaders to dedicate their work toward alleviating violence and suffering and building sustainable peace?

Learning about permaculture and social equity from Tom Benevento outside
a Vine and FiG hoop house.

Course Context

Inspired by past scholarship on critical peace education for sustainability (Brantmeier, 2013), critical pedagogy of place (Grueneweld, 2003), and the Sustainable Self Summit, I (Edward Brantmeier) created and am currently teaching an exploratory course for our Honors College at James Madison University, USA. The course is entitled “Inclusive Leadership for Sustainable Peace.” As part of this learning journey, I want my students, who I view as co-learners in a process of mutual discovery, to be more aware of the how and why of learning, to gain clarity into their career purpose through contemplative exploration, and to clarify their values and approach to leadership. In short, we focus on knowing ourselves, on connecting to global and local sustainable peace leaders and education for sustainable development initiatives, and on figuring out sustainable peace action plans for our future as leaders.

In order to achieve these lofty learning goals, I framed the course with the following foundational course questions:

  1. What are your core values, philosophy, and approach to leadership?
  2. How do impactful peace leaders navigate opportunities and barriers to sustainable peace?
  3. Where is your power to make changes to alleviate violence and suffering in a world in need–to build sustainable peace, community, and happiness?”

Answering these three questions anchors inquiry for our course; these three questions served as both the first writing assignment and will serve as the final exam of the course. Eight weeks into our learning journey, we have created definitions for inclusive leadership and for sustainable peace, explored various global leaders, and are preparing to explore local leaders and organizations, such as Vine and Fig, Project Grows, and Radical Roots Community Farm–all dedicated to sustainable peace. We are exploring our own values and approaches to leadership for sustainable peace by engaging with others who are perhaps further along the path.

Learning about cultural hospitality and being a good neighbor―to all in
need.

Exploring Inclusive Leadership and Sustainable Peace

Unsatisfied with the existing definitions of inclusive leadership, we sought to improve upon the established foundation of knowledge by incorporating fresh perspectives within the context of sustainable peace. As a class, we explored and created our own definitions. Inclusive leadership is creating a collaborative environment in which all concerned parties feel understood and empowered to participate. Here, understood and empower serve to highlight the intrinsically give-and-take nature of the environment. The traditional power dynamic between leaders and followers is transformed to support an atmosphere of humility that pervades interpersonal relations and inspires collective action in order to cultivate sustainable peace. What is sustainable peace then? As a class, we agree that sustainable peace is a state of global relationships where individuals, groups, and societies are enabled to be fully happy and well. A shared curiosity and understanding of diversity works to alleviate suffering by creating nonviolent and fair relations between and within communities of all sizes, the largest being the planetary community. Sustainable peace is both the process and the end goal.

Sawing some wood for experiments in sustainable heating, cooking, and
living.

For the purpose of exploring and comparing global sustainable peace leaders, we completed webquests (internet-based research) on multiple leaders. As a class, we looked at two United States based indigenous leaders, Winona LaDuke of the White Earth tribe and David Archambault II of the Standing Rock Sioux tribe. For each of these non-Western leaders, we examined their values, visions, and approaches to engaging in inclusive leadership for sustainable peace, as well as how they empowered, engaged, and transformed their community. Lastly, we studied the impact of these inclusive leaders and their influence on future generations. In addition to U.S. based indigenous leaders, we explored the lives and work of the following people: Wangari Maathai, a Kenyan activist and Nobel Laureate; Vandana Shiva, an Indian scholar and anti-globalization activists; and Lyonchoen Jigme Y. Thinley, former Prime Minister of Bhutan and co-visionary of gross national happiness initiatives; Thich Nhat Hanh, Vietnamese Zen buddhist monk and scholar; Mahatma Gandhi, Indian architect of satya graha, anti-colonial movement, and Martin Luther King, Jr, famous African-American civil rights leader. What have we learned from comparing global leaders so far?  

During a contemplative classroom activity, we shared the biggest takeaways when comparing and contrasting these leaders through our webquest. Here is a summary of our biggest takeaways regarding the approach of these leaders:  

  • Intentional nonviolent action.
  • Empowering the people to carry on the message, so that the movement continues for generations.
  • Persistence, lifelong dedication to their cause.
  • Every action matters.
  • No immediate gratification, rather it is a process.
  • MLK arc of justice, “The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice.”
  • Imperfect people. They had/have personal flaws.
  • They are normal ordinary people, not archetypes, therefore normal ordinary people like you and me can make change, can become inclusive leaders.
  • These people are place-based, rooted in and a part of a culture, a community, and a history. These connections matter.
  • A deep spiritual/religious core shapes their values and drives their actions.

As a class, we are nourished by these insights. Sustainable peace leadership requires intentional nonviolent action, guided by core values, placed-based connections, and a long view of the struggle for peace and justice in mind and heart. Do we consider how our present decisions and actions contribute to the well­being of the 7th Generation, as Native American teachings encourage? What would your daily leadership look and feel like if you held the concerns of the health, well­being, and relationships of the 7th generation in mind? We are exploring the answers to perennial, beautiful questions in this course. So far this learning journey has been timely and inspiring–for students and teacher alike.

References:

Brantmeier, E.J. (2013). Toward critical peace education for sustainability. Journal of Peace Education, 10 (3), 242-258.

Gruenewald, D. A. 2003. “The Best of Both Worlds: A Critical Pedagogy of Place.” Educational Researcher 32 (4): 3–12.

CONTENT DISCLAIMER: please read the Global Campaign for Peace Education's content disclaimer / policy regarding the posting and sharing of content.