书评–和平工作:为和平而创业的学生指南

和平工作:开始为和平工作的学生指南 David J. Smith 着,该系列中的一卷:Peace Education,编辑 Laura Finley 和 Robin Cooper,信息时代出版,2016 年,183 页,45.99 美元(平装本),85.99 美元(精装本),ISBN 978-1-68123 -330-7

更新(1-17-2017): Information Age Publishing 提供 33.99 美元的网络价格折扣!

[图标类型=“ glyphicon glyphicon-share-alt”颜色=“#dd3333”] 访问 Information Age Publishing 了解更多详情并购买“和平工作:为和平而工作的学生指南设立的区域办事处外,我们在美国也开设了办事处,以便我们为当地客户提供更多的支持。“

[井类型=””]

编者注: 这篇综述是全球和平教育运动和联合出版的一系列文章中的一篇 在Factis Pax:和平教育和社会正义杂志 促进和平教育奖学金。 这些评论是 信息时代出版社 和平教育系列. IAP的和平教育系列由创始编辑伊恩·哈里斯(Ian Harris)和爱德华·布兰特迈尔(Edward Brantmeier)于2006年创立,为和平教育的理论,研究,课程开发和实践提供了多种视角。 这是任何主要出版商提供的唯一专注于和平教育的系列。 单击此处了解有关此重要系列的更多信息.

[/出色地]

D狂热的 J. 史密斯因其顾问和教育家的工作以及他在美国和平研究所的前任职务而闻名于和平教育,他写道 和平工作 回答学生经常问他的一个问题:我怎样才能找到一份为和平工作的工作? 任何人都可以在几乎任何职业中从事和平工作是本书的核心主张,它为新兴的和平教育范围带来了职业指导。 史密斯根据当今学生面临的将大学视为职业培训并贬低文科教育的压力来构建这本书:他们将以高额的教育贷款债务结束大学,就业市场紧张。 史密斯建议,通过邀请学生在为未来的职业做准备时发现目标感,对和平的研究弥合了这一差距。

千禧一代的学生是史密斯的目标受众。 他引用了民意调查研究显示他们对社会变革的承诺。 和平工作 展示了这一代人具体的职业选择。 这十章介绍了广泛的职业,并建议学生在大学之前和大学期间如何为他们做好准备。 虽然人道主义援助和外交等“直接行动”和平职业很少而且很难获得,但史密斯认为“间接行动工作”几乎是无限的。 他描述了塑造和平工作未来的三个因素:将和平与冲突知识纳入所有职业领域的主流,将创造力应用于解决结构性暴力和预防破坏性冲突,以及与文科教育相关的“软技能”技能,例如领导力、沟通和解决问题。 章节 和平工作 致力于外交、人权、法律、非政府组织和政府间组织的职业,包括人道主义和军事职业、和平教学、社会正义、环境激进主义、卫生工作、社区工作、基于信仰的方法、艺术和科学、技术、和媒体。 附录包括 86 个和平工作的列表、术语表、在线资源列表以及进一步阅读的建议。

每一章都以一个虚构的故事开头,讲述一个学生面临有关和平工作和职业准备的问题,然后是实践指导。 向读者介绍了关键概念,例如建设和平、缔造和平和维持和平,以及参与这些活动的组织。 和平工作的背景包括各种当前的问题和运动,例如#BlackLivesMatter、生殖正义、性侵犯、LGBTQ 权利、艾滋病毒/艾滋病以及学校和工作场所的欺凌。 甘地、小马丁路德金和阿尔伯特爱因斯坦等著名人物被战略性地描绘成年轻人,不比读者大多少。 方框和图表将研究结果和基本概念整合到文本中。 每章还包括从事和平职业的年轻人的真实生活概况,并以有关概况的反思问题以及读者可以采取的步骤来进一步探索本章主题结束。 每章都有一个广泛的参考列表,其中包含各种来源——学术、新闻、组织和政府——其中许多是最新的。

我的批评 和平工作 关注它将如何为目标读者服务。 45.99 美元的价格对学生来说太贵了。 丰富的文本框和图形虽然很有价值,但在视觉上使章节混乱。 此外,在推动和平技能主流化的过程中,这本书阻碍了对本意良好的工作可能助长间接暴力的方式的批判性参与。

尽管如此,在许多方面, 和平工作 是一本和平教育者一直在等待的书。 它在对性别、性取向、阶级和种族差异的包容性关注以及将建设和平作为教育和职业规划的广泛框架展开方面占据了该领域的前沿。 这本书对指导顾问、职业中心、学术顾问和导师、和平教师以及计划发展或加强学习计划的教职员工都很有价值。 史密斯在他 2014 年的书中很有帮助地包含了一张表格 社区学院的和平建设 关于在课程中注入和整合和平研究,这为职业建议提供了广泛的制度背景, 和平工作 优惠。 这本书在广度上是独一无二的; 其他可用的书籍形式的和平教育相关工作指南(例如 调解职业指南 Forrest S. Mossen)是狭义的。 有几个在线工作列表,但它们缺乏 Smith 的书的上下文和广度,并且并非都定期更新。

计划 和平工作 面向学生读者,教师可能会发现它作为课程文本很有价值。 高昂的价格让我犹豫是否将其推荐为补充文本,尽管它特别适合休斯顿伍德的 和平研究邀请 (2016 年),它有很多共同点:最新的研究、不同运动和身份的广泛结合,以及可以实践和平的广泛职业背景。 然而,由于史密斯在整本书中引入了关键的理论概念,并且每一章都提出了课外探索的资源,教师可以想象地分配 和平工作 作为核心文本——这种可能性引发了关于学术课程如何设想介绍性课程以及它们是否可以在课程中为以职业为中心的课程腾出空间的问题。  

史密斯的书确定的将职业指导纳入和平教育计划的广泛框架使得计划让学生参与对职业领域的系统和实地现实的批判性分析变得更加重要。 史密斯谈到了一些批评领域——例如,将军国主义与建设和平混为一谈,以及人道主义努力可能对目标人群造成的破坏。 无论学生旨在为和平工作的职业领域是什么,他们都需要对结构性和文化暴力有深刻的了解,包括新自由主义政策和新殖民主义实践的影响,人权方法的潜力和局限性,以及自我反思的技能作为盟友和拥护者。 计划需要警惕志愿服务作为低收入学生的职业进入的局限性,以及他们促进服务机会的方式将这些经历构建为冒险,使特权参与者自我感觉良好,而忽视他们的对所服务社区的潜在不利影响。

珍妮特·格雷
新泽西学院
灰色@tcnj.edu

 

加入运动并帮助我们#SpreadPeaceEd!
请给我发电子邮件:

1 次思考“书评 - 和平工作:学生开始为和平而工作的职业指南”

发表评论

您的电邮地址不会被公开。 必填带 *

滚动到顶部

Book Review – Peace Jobs: a student’s guide to starting a career working for peace

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on TumblrShare on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page

Peace jobs: a student’s guide to starting a career working for peace by David J. Smith, a volume in the series: Peace Education, editors Laura Finley & Robin Cooper, Information Age Publishing, 2016, 183 pp., US $45.99 (paperback), US $85.99 (hardcover), ISBN 978-1-68123-330-7

Update (1-17-2017): Information Age Publishing is offering a web price discount of $33.99!

 visit Information Age Publishing for more details and to purchase “Peace jobs: A Student’s Guide to Starting a Career Working for Peace.”

[well type=””]

Editors note: This review is one in a series co-published by the Global Campaign for Peace Education and In Factis Pax: Journal of Peace Education and Social Justice toward promoting peace education scholarship. These reviews are of Information Age Publishing’s Peace Education series. Established in 2006 by Founding Editors Ian Harris and Edward Brantmeier, IAP’s peace education series offers diverse perspectives on peace education theory, research, curriculum development and practice. It is the only series focused on peace education offered by any major publisher. Click here to learn more about this important series.

[/well]

David J. Smith, who is well known in peace education for his work as a consultant and educator and his former roles at the US Institute of Peace, wrote Peace Jobs to answer a question students frequently ask him: How can I get a job working for peace? That anyone can do peace work in almost any occupation is a central claim of this book, which brings a career guidance lens to the emergent broad scope of peace education. Smith frames the book in terms of the pressures that students today face to treat college as career training and devalue liberal arts education: they will end college with high educational loan debts, and the job market is tight. The study of peace bridges the gap, Smith suggests, by inviting students to discover a sense of purpose as they prepare for careers of the future.

Millennial generation students are Smith’s target audience. He cites polling research showing their commitment to social change. Peace Jobs shows this generation concrete career options. The ten chapters introduce a broad scope of occupations and advise students how to prepare for them before and during college. While “direct-action” peace professions such as humanitarian aid and diplomacy are few and hard to get, Smith suggests that “indirect action jobs” are nearly limitless. He describes three factors shaping the future of peace work: the mainstreaming of peace and conflict knowledge into all occupational fields, the application of creativity to addressing structural violence and preventing destructive conflict, and the “soft skills” skills associated with a liberal arts education, such as leadership, communication, and problem solving. Chapters in Peace Jobs are devoted to careers in diplomacy, human rights, law, nongovernmental and intergovernmental organizations including both humanitarian and military careers, peace teaching, social justice, environmental activism, health work, community work, faith-based approaches, the arts and sciences, technology, and the media. The appendices include a list of 86 peace jobs, a glossary of terms, a list of online resources, and recommendations for further reading.

Each chapter begins with a fictionalized story of a student facing questions about peace work and career preparation, then follows up with practical guidance. Readers are introduced to key concepts, such as peacebuilding, peacemaking, and peacekeeping, as well as organizations engaged in these activities. Contexts for peace work include diverse current issues and movements such as #BlackLivesMatter, reproductive justice, sexual assault, LGBTQ rights, HIV/AIDS, and bullying in schools and workplaces. Famed figures such as Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Albert Einstein are strategically depicted as youths, not much older than the reader. Boxes and figures integrate research findings and fundamental concepts into the text. Each chapter also includes true-life profiles of young people in peace occupations, and ends with reflection questions about the profiles as well as steps the reader can take to further explore the chapter’s topics. Each chapter has an extensive reference list with a variety of sources—scholarly, news, organizational, and governmental—many of them very current.

My critiques of Peace Jobs concern how it will work for its intended readers. At $45.99, the price is stiff for students. The abundant text boxes and figures, while valuable, visually confuse the chapters. Further, in its drive to mainstream peace skills, the book holds back on critical engagement with the ways that well meant work can fuel indirect violence.

Nevertheless, in many respects, Peace Jobs is a book that peace educators have been waiting for. It captures the front edge of the field in its inclusive attention to differences of gender, sexuality, class, and race, and in its unpacking of peacebuilding as an expansive framework for education and career planning. The book will be of value to guidance counselors, career centers, academic advisors and mentors, peace teachers, and faculties planning the development or enhancement of programs of study. Smith helpfully includes a table from his 2014 book Peacebuilding in Community Colleges on infusing and integrating peace studies across the curriculum, which suggests a broad institutional context for the career advisement that Peace Job offers. The book is unique in breadth; other available peace education-related job guides in book form (e.g. Mediation Career Guide by Forrest S. Mossen) are narrowly specialized. There are several online job lists, but they lack the contextualization and breadth of Smith’s book and are not all regularly updated.

Because Peace Jobs is directed toward student readers, instructors might find it valuable as a course text. The high price makes me hesitant to recommend it as a supplemental text, although it would fit especially well with Houston Wood’s Invitation to Peace Studies (2016), with which it has much in common: up-to-date research, broad incorporation of diverse movements and identities, and a broad range of occupational contexts in which peace can be practiced. However, because Smith introduces key theoretical concepts throughout the texts, and each chapter proposes resources for exploration beyond the text, instructors could conceivably assign Peace Jobs as the core text–a possibility that raises questions about how academic programs envision introductory courses and whether they can make room in the curriculum for a course that centralizes careers.  

The expansive framework that Smith’s book identifies for incorporating career guidance into peace education programs makes all the more important that programs engage students with critical analysis of the systemic and on-the-ground realities of occupational domains. Smith touches on some areas of critique—for instance, the conflation of militarism with peacebuilding, and the disruptions that humanitarian efforts can impose on target populations. Whatever the occupational field where students aim to work for peace, they need a strong grasp of structural and cultural violence, including the impacts of neoliberal policies and neocolonial practices, and the potentials and limitations of human rights approaches, as well as self-reflective skills as allies and advocates. Programs need to be alert to the limitations of volunteerism as an occupational entry for lower-income students, and to the ways that their promotion of service opportunities frame those experiences as adventures that will make privileged participants feel good about themselves, to the neglect of their potential detrimental impacts on the communities served.

Janet Gray
The College of New Jersey
[email protected]

 

CONTENT DISCLAIMER: please read the Global Campaign for Peace Education's content disclaimer / policy regarding the posting and sharing of content.